3 Silver Sluggers each for Wisconsin, Hickory

Those Wilson men sure know their precious metals.

Wisconsin and Hickory, managed by Dan and Mike Wilson, respectively, lead the way with three representatives on the Silver Slugger team for 2012.

Most of us will probably take the Warhawks’ triumvirate of Prince Fielder, Robinson Cano and Ryan Braun over the Hickory threesome of Aaron Hill, Chase Headley and Jay Bruce, but nonetheless, three each.

Four other clubs boasted a pair of representatives on the team: Bushwood had catcher Buster Posey and outfielder Josh Hamilton; Iowa had outfielders Mike Trout and Josh Willingham; Bismarck had shortstop Derek Jeter and outfielder Andrew McCutchen; and Superior had DH Billy Butler and third baseman Miguel Cabrera.

South Grand Prairie had a lone representative in shortstop Ian Desmond. Meanwhile, Silver Sluggers were distributed to two players eligible for our 2013 draft — first baseman Adam LaRoche and catcher A.J. Pierzynski.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: