Bombers can expect five ‘1’ fielders

The Bismarck Bombers lead the way with returning Gold Glove (and likely 1 fielders) for the 2010 season. Gold Glove winners for 2009 were announced by Rawlings on Tuesday and Wednesday.

Springfield can boast three Gold Glovers, while three teams teams — Detroit, Savannah and Hickory — proudly own Gold Glovers apiece. (UPDATED FROM AN EARLIER INCORRECT COUNT.)

Michael Bourn is the only player awarded a Gold Glove who isn’t presently on a roster. Springfield’s Matt Kemp would be making the leap from a 3 to a 1 if Strat stays true to form.

Here’s the position-by-position recap and who presently owns the Gold Glovers:

P — Adam Wainwright (BIB) and Mark Buehrle (BIB)
C — Yadier Molina (DED) and Joe Mauer (SUT)
1B — Adrian Gonzalez (BIB) and Mark Teixeira (HIN)
2B — Orlando Hudson (SPI) and Placido Polanco (SAS)
SS — Jimmie Rollins (WIW) and Derek Jeter (BIB)
3B — Ryan Zimmerman (SAS) and Evan Longoria (TRH)
OF — Michael Bourn (FA), Matt Kemp (SPI), Shane Victorino (HIN)
OF — Torii Hunter (BIB), Ichiro Suzuki (DED), Adam Jones (SPI)