Savannah, Detroit go to Game Seven

The Savannah Scorpions showed they still had a lot “lefty” in their tank in the Southbound Division championship, riding strong outings by CC Sabathia and Cole Hamels to victories in Games 5 and 6 to force a decisive seventh game against Detroit.

Sabathia’s complete game outing and five Savannah homers helped pave the way to the 9-3 Game Five win. Then Hamels pitched 7 2/3 innings of shutout ball, and Joe Nathan survived a scary ninth inning in the Scorpions’ 2-1 Game Six victory.

Game Seven is slated for 9 a.m. Tuesday. Read on for more game details as provided by Steve Hart. Continue reading

Congratulations are in order…

… To Ken Kuzdak and Christian Kuzdak. Ken’s alma mater and Christian’s current school, Novi Detroit Catholic Central, won its 10th state football championship Saturday at Ford Field, defeating Sterling Heights Stevenson 31-21. Stevenson was ranked No. 24 in the USA TODAY Super 25. Made for a nice one-day early birthday present for Ken, who turns 53, we believe, Sunday…UPDATE: Ken turned 52, and Catholic Central is No. 24 in this week’s USA TODAY Super 25 rankings…

… to Dave LaMont, for another great showing while broadcasting Saturday’s Missouri-Kansas 41-39 thriller. While usually relegated to ESPN and its family of networks, Dave’s showed up on ABC for some parts of the country, and in other parts (like the Northern Virginia/D.C. area), ABC switched to the game at the conclusion of the locally-broadcast rivalry.

… to Rick Lackey, the other half of the South Grand Prairie braintrust, who piloted his NASOMA team, the WarPigs, to an unheard-of 126-36 (.778) record in winning their league championship. Garth Lewis’ Wahoos went 89-73 and lost in the league semifinals.

… to Dan Wilson, who announced on Facebook Thursday that he and his wife are expecting a baby boy…

Titans put Gophers on brink of elimination

Superior is one game away from the I-75 Strat-O-Matic League World Series after winning a pair of tight, low-scoring games over the Bushwood Gophers.

With a 2-1 win in Game Three and a 3-2, 11-inning win in Game Four, the Titans now own a 3-1 lead over the Northbound Division regular-season champs. Read on for more details.

Continue reading

Pat Burrell, the GM wants to see you in his office

File this fact away if the Superior Titans manage to take down the Bushwood Gophers in the Northbound Division finals:

There are grumblings in the Gophers’ clubhouse that general manager Dave Renbarger might not be giving complete focus to the playoffs, as a member of the front office leaked the Gophers’ tentative retention list plans to this Website.

If Bushwood goes on to win the championship, it may prove quickly forgotten, but if the Gophers go down, questions will be raised about why they were paying any attention at all to 2010 plans with ballgames still to be played in 2009.

Got your team’s retention thoughts ready? Send ’em in and we’ll post.

I-75 acknowledged as ‘another league for the ages’

That’s “ages,” not “aged.”

Remember about a year ago when Glenn Guzzo featured that GUSSOMO league that had been in operation for 37 years?

I sent him an e-mail after that article appeared, telling him about our league as it was about to launch its 30th year, and until today was unaware he had ever acknowledged it. Turns out he had, in January, in his monthly feature, “The Talk Show,” originally linked here and now also on the new Strat Web site here (last item). 

Guzzo published my letter and responded in part:  “This is wonderful testimony to the enduring value of Strat-O-Matic and the way the hobby binds us happily.” Read on for the letter and his response, or click the links in the previous paragraph. Continue reading

Today’s chuckle

Nothing to do with Strat, but thought you’d get a kick of of the licks that this pint-sized linebacker lays on the ballcarriers in this youth football game.


Whose card are you excited about?

One of the threads in the Strat-O-Matic forum asks, “Whose card are you excited about?” Among the early responses are Albert Pujols, Joe Mauer, CC Sabathia, Tim Lincecum, Mariano Rivera, Hanley Ramirez, Joey Votto, Chone Figgins, Chris Carpenter and Adam Wainright.

What about you? Whose card are you excited to see?

(This blog post is a test of the “Blog post via e-mail” function…)